WHERE CAN YOU DRIVE WITH YOUR NYS PERMIT? With the vacation season quickly approaching it is important to know wher a driver who only has a New York Permit can drive. A family trip is a great opportunity to get some driving experience in but do you know whether or not aNew York Permit is valid in the state you are traveling in? Below is a list of states that DO and DO NOT accept New York Permits as being valid. Alabama Will accept any valid New York State learner’s permit subject to restrictions mandated by NY.
Alaska Will allow a non-resident to operate a vehicle for up to 90 days provided he or she is at least 16 years of age and has a valid license or permit and that the driver with the permit be accompanied and supervised by a license driver who is at least 21 years of age and has been licensed for at least one year.
Arizona Will “NOT” accept any out of state learner’s permit.
Arkansas Will accept a valid NYS learner’s permit subject to restrictions mandated by NY.
California If you are a visitor in California, between 16 and 18 years old, you may drive in CA with your NY license or instruction permit for only 10 days after you arrive in California. After 10 days you must have either a Nonresident Minor’s Certificate or a California license.
Colorado Will accept a valid NYS learner’s permit subject to restrictions mandated by NY.
Connecticut will recognize NY State learners permits provided the restrictions of Connecticut and New York are met. The permit must be in the possession of the applicant when taking on-road instruction, the person providing the on-road training must be twenty years of age or older, have been licensed in the class of the vehicle being operated for the four year period preceding the instruction, and not had their license suspended during that four years. In addition, operation upon limited access highways is prohibited for the first sixty days from date of issuance of the learner’s permit.
Delaware Will accept a valid NYS learner’s permit subject to restrictions mandated by NY.
District of Columbia Will NOT accept a learner's permit issued by a jurisdiction other than the District of Columbia.
Florida Will accept a NYS learner's permit BUT any person with an out-of-state learner’s license must comply with Florida’s laws while driving in Florida. A learner’s license requires that a licensed driver 21 years or older ride in the front passenger seat. In addition, they can only drive during daylight hours during the first three months and until 10 p.m. thereafter.
Georgia Will accept a valid NYS learner’s permit subject to restrictions mandated by the NY.
Hawaii Will “NOT” accept any out of state learner’s permit.
Idaho A learner’s permit from New York is valid in Idaho as long as the driver abides by the restrictions on the NY learners permit meaning that a licensed adult is in the seat beside the driver and daylight driving.
Illinois Will accept avalid NYS learner’s permit subject to restrictions mandated by the NY.
Indiana A holder of an out of a NYS learner’s permit may legally operate a vehicle in Indiana as long as they follow the guidelines of New York. The seat beside the holder must be occupied by a guardian or relative of the holder who holds a valid operator’s, chauffeur’s or public passenger chauffeur’s license.
Iowa Will honor a NYS Instruction Permit subject to restrictions mandated by NY.
Kansas Will accept a valid NYS learner’s permit subject to restrictions mandated by NY.
Kentucky Will allow the holder of a valid NYS instruction permit issued by their home NY to operate a motor vehicle. The driver must be at least 16 years of age and abide by the following restrictions: 1) licensed operator over the age of 21 must be in the front seat beside the driver; 2) no operation between the hours of 12 Midnight and 6:00 A.M. Also, the operator would be required to adhere to any other restrictions placed on the operation of the motor vehicle by the issuing state.
Louisiana A NY state learner’s permit is valid in Louisiana for driving purposes. Louisiana requires that anyone with a learner’s permit must be accompanied by a licensed adult driver at least 21.
Maine A person with a valid learner’s permit issued by NY can legally drive in Maine provided that person is at least 16 years of age and adheres to all restrictions applied to the learner’s permit issued by New York.
Maryland Allows NY learner's permits as long as the individual is accompanied by and under the immediate supervision of an individual who is a least 21 years of age, has been licensed for at least three years to drive vehicles of the class being driven and unless the vehicle is a motorcycle, is seated beside the holder of the learner’s instructional permit.
Massachusetts Allows NYS learner's permits providing they follow NYS rules. A Permit holder who is under the age of 18 may not operate a motor vehicle between the hours of 12:00 AM (midnight) and 5:00 AM unless accompanied by his parent or legal guardian, who is a licensed operator with at least one year of driving experience and whose license or right to operate is not revoked or suspended. Michigan A person 16 years of age or older holding a valid learner’s permit may drive in Michigan providing they follow restrictions mandated by their State. The person must, however, be accompanied by another licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age and is seated beside the holder of the learner’s permit.
Minnesota A driver holding aNYS learners permit can legally drive in Minnestota provided that all restrictions on the permit are obeyed.
Mississippi A student with a valid NYS learner’s permit may drive legally.
Missouri Missouri laws do not allow an individual to operate a motor vehicle on the roadways of this state unless the driver is at least 15 years and 182 days old, has passed the written test, possesses a valid Restricted Temporary Instruction Permit, and operates a vehicle with a parent, grandparent or guardian. A disabled parent, grandparent or guardian may designate a maximum of two persons to accompany the driver in the vehicle for the purpose of giving instruction in driving. The designated person must be at least 21 years of age, must occupy the seat beside the driver and must be a licensed operator for the type of motor vehicle being operated.
Montana Will accept a valid NY learner’s permit subject to restrictions mandated by Montana as long as they are accompanied by a valid license driver.
Nebraska Will honor the same driving privileges that are recognized in New York.
Nevada A NY resident who has a valid license or permit in his possession, issued by NY may drive a motor vehicle in Nevada of the same type or class he may operate in his home state. The driver must be in compliance with any restrictions noted on the license or permit.
New Hampshire Will “NOT” accept any out of state learner’s permits.
New Jersey A driver with a valid NY learner’s permit may legally drive in New Jersey provided the vehicle he is operating is properly titled, registered and insured in the NY. The permit holder will be subject to the laws of NY.
New Mexico Will honor learner permits issued by New York.
North Carolina Will honor NY learners permit while driving in North Carolina and is abiding by the restrictions on their learner’s permit or license as required by New York.
Ohio To drive in Ohio you must get a temporary permit.
Oklahoma Oklahoma law says that a person sixteen years of age or older who has his NYS permit or license will be allowed to operate a vehicle in Oklahoma as long as he is in compliance with all restrictions of NY License or permit.
Oregon New York State permits will be honored in Oregon if, the driver has the permit in their possession, and is accompanied by a license driver at least 21 years of age in the front seat of their vehicle.
Pennsylvania A non-resident who is in possession of a valid learner’s permit from their home state may “NOT” operate a Motor Vehicle while traveling through Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania law recognizes valid driver licenses issued in the person’s home state, but does not authorize the use of a learner’s permit issued in another state.
Rhode Island Will accept any valid learner’s permit subject to restriction mandated by the issuing state provided that issuing state accepts their Rhode Island permits.
South Carolina Does “NOT” recognize an out-of-state beginner’s permit inasmuch as the requirements to obtain a beginner’s permit vary from state to state.
South Dakota South Dakota will accept any valid learner’s permit subject to restrictions mandated by the issuing state provided the issuing state accepts their state permit.
Tennessee If a person wishes to operate a motor vehicle while in the State of Tennessee they may do so with an New York state learner’s permit as long as they comply with all restrictions and regulations on NYs issuing permit.
Texas Will accept New York State Learners permits provided the person complies with all provisions of our Texas. Must drive with someone in the front seat that is 18 years of age or older and holds a valid license.
Utah New York permits are accepted as long as they have it in their immediate possession valid license certificates (this includes learner permits) issued to them in New York. These individuals may operate class D or M vehicles. Class D vehicles are 26,000 lbs. or less GVWR (Gross Vehicle Weight Rating); class M vehicles are motorcycles.
Vermont Will “NOT” accept any out of state learner’s permit.
Virginia Virginia will accept any valid NY state learner’s permit subject to restrictions mandated by the issuing NYS as long as a person is accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age or if the licensed driver is a sibling, 18 years of age.
Washington Accepts New York Learners permits as long as you are in possession of a valid NYS instruction permit. In addition, a license driver with at least five (5) years driving experience must be seated beside them.
West Virginia The West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles will honor any NY driver’s license or learner’s permit for operation in their state. The learner’s permit or driver’s license must be valid and must adhere to all restrictions mandated by the New York.
Wisconsin In order to drive in Wisconsin with a NY Learner’s Permit issued by they are required to operate under the same restrictions as a Wisconsin instruction permit holder. The restrictions are as follows: (a) during daylight hours with a licensed person who has at least two years licensed driving experience occupying the seat next to the operator. (b) during nighttime when accompanied by a licensed person age 25 or more with at least two years licensed driving experience. (c) one additional licensed person is allowed in the back seat if such person is age 25 or more and has two years licensed driving experience.
Wyoming If a person has a New York State's learner’s permit they may drive in Wyoming as long as they comply with the restrictions imposed by the NY.